top of page


Delta Sigma Theta Sorority was founded on January 13, 1913 by twenty-two collegiate women at Howard University. These students wanted to use their collective strength to promote academic excellence and to provide assistance to persons in need. The first public act performed by the Delta Founders involved their participation in the Women's Suffrage March in Washington D.C., March 1913. Delta Sigma Theta was incorporated in 1930.


A Historical Look at Miami Alumnae

In 1940, seven (7) young Deltas found themselves living and working together in Miami, Florida. They saw the need to continue the commitment of membership in Delta Sigma Theta. So they requested permission to form a chapter. These sorors were: Lugusta Tyler Colston, Mildred Jackson, Pearl Tate Jenkins, Susie E. Corpew Lucas, Oneida Byrdie Mickens, Maxine Pollard Bright-Davies, and Primrose Barnwell Tibbs.


The permission was given in June 1941. Beta Zeta Sigma was charted with the seven (7) sorors and three (3) initiates: Frances Tucker, Dorothy Maxwell Newton and Alice Hawkins. These sorors provided leadership and visibility in Dade County's Black community over the years with outstanding programs and projects; continuing to grow and induct new members. From this nucleus grew a membership of many Miami Deltas.

Beta Zeta Sigma became Miami Alumnae Chapter when Grand Chapter changed the nomenclature for chapters. Miami Alumnae Chapter continued the legacy of Delta.


Throughout the years, Miami Alumnae has established new programs and projects; and has perpetuated existing ones that serve youth and our community. We've come this far by faith!


bottom of page